On the right path

After a bit easier, recovery week I’m back in the business. In the next 3-week cycle my running and swimming volumes will reach new heights and there will also be a bit of intensity included to spice things up. As usual, I was a bit unmotivated in the recovery week but as soon as I stepped in the new build cycle I felt full of energy, and eager to do the work.

As I mentioned in one of my previous posts swimming is going really well. All those kilometers in chlorinated water are starting to pay off. On Monday I’ve had first harder set. It was 6x100m hard with 30s pause. My splits were 1:15, 1:15, 1:15, 1:14, 1:13, 1:14. I’m happy with that, but it will be much better when I get used to swimming hard again (at least I hope so). After that I had 12×100 easy with 20s pause. I started with 1:22 and ended up at 1:20, not too shabby.

Running is going really well also. I’m much faster then this time last year. I’m slowly integrating some intensity. I’ve been doing strides all the time, but they are getting longer now, and also there are some medium long tempo intervals and some hill work. Most often I run in the early morning, before I go to work. Days are getting longer which is a good thing when you don’t prefer getting up when it’s still dark outside. I love that part of the day, especially in the spring when it’s not too cold and not too hot either. I really enjoy quietness of the dawn, color and light play at sunrise… Also, few days ago it was full moon and it was very low on the horizon so it looked 5 times bigger than usual. Beautiful.

Cycling is still on hold. I’ve been doing only one training on my road bike per week, but I commute daily (regardless of the weather) on my mountain bike. It usually adds up to 80 – 100+ km of commuting per week. After this build cycle I’ll put much more emphasis on my biking in preparation for Ironman 70.3 Austria.

I already feel strong and eager to race.

Regarding Lydiard training you can find good summary on this link. I’ll maybe write more when I read some of his books.

Posted on February 11, 2009, in running, swimming, training, triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

