Zagreb Open triathlon

This past weekend I raced olympic distance triathlon in Zagreb. It’s one of the biggest triathlon races in Croatia with around 200 participants in 3 races (olympic, super sprint and “triathlon for all”). As you can see from this numbers triathlon is still not very popular here, but things are changing (albeit slowly).
The competition was quite good in olympic distance event. We had the best Croatian triathletes as well as some very good athletes from surrounding countries competing. I was out of the water in second pack about 1.15-1.30 down on the leaders. This was quite an improvement compared to previous years. We worked well on the bike and caught the lead group half way trough. Once on the run three guys went hard on the first kilometer. I was a couple of seconds back with another guy. Since I have very important race next weekend I decided not to give everything here so I eased up a bit and finished in 5th place.
Next weekend I’ll have my first major race of the season, ITU European Long Distance Championship in Vitoria Gasteiz, Spain. I had some decent training sessions lately and I’m confident I can pull out a decent result in Spain.

Posted on June 21, 2010, in race report and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

