Challenge Walchsee-Kaiserwinkl

I raced Challenge Walchsee and finished 17th. It was a bit disappointing as I was expecting top10 finish. The crucial moment of the race came in the second part of the swim. I swam comfortably in a good group when something happened and I started to slip towards the back of the group and eventually lost contact.

After a lonely first 50k on the bike one guy caught me and soon we caught smaller, 3 man group. At the start of the run I was in 12th place, not too far from my goal but then I faded a bit and lost some positions. The pace felt very comfortable but somehow I couldn’t speed up.

The win went to Michael Weiss who rode 2.04 for a slightly longer course (91,9 km according to my bike computer) with 900m of ascent. Cigana and Degaspieri, booth from Italy, rounded the podium.

Yvonne van Vlerken took the women’s title in front of Eva Dollinger and Edith Niederfriniger.

I have another half Ironman distance race on Saturday in Bled, Slovenia. This will be the first time I’ll be doing back to back half’s so I hope it goes well.

Posted on September 7, 2010, in race report and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well done, very impressive!

Leave a Reply

