Duathlon Vrlika

Last Saturday I took part in Croatian sprint duathlon championships. There were four of us in the lead group and I was setting the pace for the first 4km of the run. During the last kilometer one guy made a big acceleration. Unfortunately I was the only one from our group that couldn’t match the pace and I was left in no mans land.
Leading trio was 15s ahead in T1. Once on the bike I was very close to catching them. So close that I hadn’t put my feet into shoes until half way point. But I lacked that little bit of extra speed and couldn’t close the gap. By T2 they managed to increase the lead by further 15s. Second run was too short to change anything and I finished in 4th place.
This weekend I’ll race half marathon in Zagreb and I hope to improve my PB which was set exactly one year ago in Eindhoven (1.13.50h). Interesting thing is that booth races are held the day after Ironman World Championship in Kona.

Posted on October 5, 2010, in cycling, race report, running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

