Duel

Few months ago I mentioned that I plan to do some off-season races. One of them is 9,3k uphill run race that’s scheduled almost every weekend during winter. So far I got 2 wins and one 3rd place when I missed a turn while in the lead (visibility was bad as it was snowing).

Last Sunday I raced for the first time in 2013. There was a bit of fresh snow on the ground, just enough to make it slippery and prolong the suffering for a few minutes. This time the competition was tougher as the guy that was dominating off-road version decided to try road version of the race. Soon after the start we got away from the rest of the field. I tried to get away many times but couldn’t. Then in the last 300m I finally got rid of him but not in a way I was hoping for. I wanted to get away from him and not the other way around.

154828_139073062925554_266658014_nToo bad the traction was poor as I’m sure we’d booth end up with new PBs if the road was dry. I’ll try to get my revenge this weekend and I hope the road will be clear so I can try to shave some seconds off my PB.

Posted on February 15, 2013, in race report and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Nice surge of quality work! But aren’t you bored from the snow too? (I wish I could live in Andalucia in winter time…)
    BTW, when will you post about your 2013 race schedule ?

  2. Plenty of snow this year. I think if you add everything up there was more than 150 cm, probably close to 2m. February is a bit depressing because when you start to think spring is just around the corner you get another portion of winter weather.
    Now I pretty much know my race schedule so I could post it. Thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

