New landscapes

Past weekend I spent some time in my hometown and, as usual, used warmer weather (which is also usual there) for some longer bike rides. While living there I always wondered how some of those distant hills look like up close. I’m not sure why I never cycled there before. Probably as I didn’t expect those roads were paved and I chased higher average speed on wider and flatter roads.

This time new roads were more important than average speed. Turns out there was more asphalt than expected, although my expectations were low. Roads were narrow, often with double digit grade and sandy in places which sometimes made uphills more pleasant (and faster) then downhills. There was almost no traffic which is not unusual since almost no one lives there any more.

IMG_20130302_164651

IMG_20130302_165437

IMG_20130306_131311

IMG_20130304_170222

Posted on March 6, 2013, in training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

