Natureman

Moral of the story: Never give up.

I raced Natureman this past Sunday. After 60k on the bike people were still shouting: “Douzieme”. I don’t speak French but know enough to know that’s not what I was hoping for. Then things went in different direction quickly. I passed a lot of guys on the last climb and by the top found myself in the lead. Together with Mike Aigroz I attacked on the downhill and got a small gap. I wanted to be first off the bike but he passed me just as we entered no pass zone.

entering T2

entering T2

I felt quite bad on the run and spent most of it with Mike in 5&6 spot. Then once again things turned 5km before the finish as we passed 3 guys within 200m. We passed one, another one stopped for cramps and third one collapsed. Meanwhile, Mike found another gear and got away so I took last step on the podium.

10365760_10152726075431963_6552978841272943869_n

3rd place not far behind Marcel Zamora (5x Embrunman and Ironman Nice champion) and Mike Aigroz (6. at Hawaii, 3. at Roth). For the majority of the race it didn’t look like this will be one to remember but at the end it wasn’t so bad ;).

From the video above you can see the run course was a bit harder than usual.

Race course was quite hard both on bike and run but also very scenic and superbly organized. It’s no wonder this race sold out in only its third edition.

This race season has been long and it’s slowly coming to an end. I’ve raced 4 ironmans and 5 half-ironmans so far this year and there’s only one half-ironman left. I’ll try to defend my title at Porec triathlon this weekend. One more time full gas and then it’s time for some rest and preparations for next season.

results

Posted on October 9, 2014, in race report and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

