Porec triathlon

This Sunday I had my last race of the season, Croatian championship at half-ironman distance in Porec. Given the course of the season, this was one of those races where anything except a win would be considered a failure. Competition was quite good so I knew that it won’t be easy to win, but I was prepared to go full gas one more time this season.

We started from the beach and I finally had a good reaction at the start. My happiness lasted for about a second, because in the next second my goggles filled with water while jumping in. I couldn’t see anything and after few hundred meters I took few seconds to adjust them. Now I could see again, but first thing I saw was that the group I usually swim with had a small gap.

10645293_4954369673995_112723253778551237_n

We had 4 out and back loops on the bike. At the first turnaround I saw that Beijing Olympian, Pavel Simko, was alone in the front with a group of 4 not far behind him. I was another minute behind the group and it took me 2 laps to catch them. They covered all my breakaway attempts, so we rolled in T2 together.

10154408_4954371714046_5325339601323212323_n

At the start of the run Simko was 2 minutes ahead. Run was also four loop affair. After first lap the gap remained intact and I only got 15’’ closer in the second lap. However, I knew I can gain much more time in the second half if I keep the pressure high. By the end of third lap the gap went down to 45’’. Initially it was supposed to be 3-loop run course, but because of road works the course was changed to 4 smaller loops. Simko didn’t know about the course change and it must have been unpleasant surprise when he found out there’s one more lap left. He slowed down considerably, so I took the lead soon after entering the last lap and held it until the finish.

13102014-02

This was my longest and my most successful season so far. Porec was my 10th race of the season (4 ironmans and 6 halfs). It didn’t start well, but the second half of the season was really good. I’m happy that I managed to close it in style.

results

Posted on October 16, 2014, in race report and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great ending for a successful season. Congrats Andrej !
    Now comes the time to rest and….
    …. actualize your blog header at last ! :-p

  2. PS: will you start your new Croatian 70.3 in 2015 ?

  3. Thanks DaJo. Not sure yet about next season. That 70.3 looks appealing, but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

