Challenge Roth

I had big expectations for the Challenge Roth and once again ended up a bit disappointed with my performance. Recovery from the last race went really quick and I felt great for the whole week leading into the race. The only day where I felt a bit worse was the race day. This is 3rd time in a row that I go back from Roth a little bit disappointed. It’s such a good race with the biggest crowds in the triathlon circuit so I always feel a bit more sad if I mess it up here then at some other venue. But, as Arnie says: “I’ll be back”.

The race didn’t start well. I felt quite bad during the swim and struggled to keep up with the group. On a normal day I think I should have been in a group that was about a minute ahead. The day didn’t start well but it wasn’t terrible either.

head down and push (photo from Slowtwitch)

head down and push (photo from Slowtwitch)

I rode with Stefan Schmidt and we set a good pace in the first loop. The pace was hard but felt sustainable for 2 loops. However, in the second loop things started to go south. I had difficulties to take calories as I felt like I’m going to throw up. Until the half-way point of the loop things were still ok. Until then I still had around 41,5 km/h average speed. But then I started to get small cramps and the power dropped significantly. I lost quite a bit of time in the last 45km.

The best climb in triathlon circuit

The best climb in triathlon circuit

From the start of the run legs felt very stiff. I had that feeling in races before and usually it would get better after a few kilometers. This time that was not the case and it was getting even harder to keep moving. I knew I’ll have some friends in Schwandt at around 13th kilometer so I decided to run until there and if things don’t get better quit and tell them to drive me back to Roth. I barely made it there but had to change the plan as they arrived with their bikes and not with a car :).

struggle from the start

struggle from the start

Plan B was to walk/run back to transition. At that point that looked like a big task. However, things started to get better. I was walking through aid stations and took as much as I could and in between I started running solid pace. Legs were still in terrible shape and each step felt very hard but at least I was moving. I was still within top10 and it looked like there’s a chance for me to stay there, so I quit quitting and decided to finish the race. It wasn’t easy but I got it done and finished in 8th spot.

Expectations were much higher but things don’t always go as expected in a race this long. At least I’m happy that I finished, even though at some points on the run I thought there’s no chance I’ll see the finish line today. There will be more opportunities to prove that I can do better. Now I’ll travel to St. Moritz where I’ll train in Suttons group until September. My next race will probably be Embrunman.

garmin (bike)

results

Posted on July 15, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wish you a good recovery Andrej… and a as successful race in Embrun as it was in 2014 !

Leave a Reply

