Ironman 70.3 Dubai

Last Friday I opened this year’s triathlon season with Ironman 70.3 Dubai. The form was coming along nicely, so I wanted to test myself against some of the world’s best triathletes and try to earn something along the way.

I spend last two months training in Makarska on Croatian coast. Everything was going great until 20 days before the race. What initially felt like minor injury turned into a more serious problem that forced me to take a break from running 10 days before the race. I had 4-5 physio treatments and felt much better, but still when I tested my leg with short 20 minute run the day before the race, the leg was still painful. It looked like I won’t be able to finish the race, but still I wanted to see how my swim and bike were progressing.

20160128_151224

check in

Due to strong winds, the swim was shortened to 1,2 km and moved to marina. I swam at my last-year’s level with the guys I usually swim with. The swim venue was moved so we had 1 km beach run to first transition. The leg was good enough not to lose time here and I started the bike in a good position.

First half of the ride was with a strong tailwind. Average speed was close to 50 km/h on that section. I felt quite good and set the pace from 10th to 70th kilometer. By the turnaround point I was in fifth spot. Frodeno and Amberger were leading, behind them were Kovacic and Kung and then there was our group. After 70 km I had a minor crisis, so Bozzone, Aernouts and Williams got away. I kept them in sight and entered transition some 30 seconds after them.

12400945_890487001069146_2766992653172990139_n

The leg was painful from the start of the run so it was decision time. To run and risk worsening of the injury or to quit. I decided to run for a while and see how things progress. At that point I was in 8th spot with 6th and 7th guy less than 30 seconds ahead. The situation with the leg wasn’t getting any worse (or any better) so I decided to run until I’m in the money (top 10). Turns out I managed to stay in top 10. In the final few kilometers Blanchart passed me and I finished in 9th spot.

1378_006096

Given the conditions I’m happy with the race. I was in a good position in T2. My run was progressing nicely before the injury and I’m sure I would have been much better placed if I was healthy. Next race is quite far away, so I have plenty of time to heal the injury and prepare for Ironman South Africa in April.

20160129_210029

Posted on February 1, 2016, in race report, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

