Chiemsee triathlon

Past weekend I took part in Chiemsee triathlon. It’s a relatively small race with about 1,000 participants. The atmosphere surrounding it is very relaxed, but the organisation is on a high level. I was there 2 years ago and I would be there last year as well if it didn’t collide with ITU world championship in Sweden.

20160624_161857

I had a solid race and took fifth spot. Generally, I was happy with my performance, but I expected it to be enough for a podium spot. Compared to two years ago I had 3 minute faster time, but it looks like competition was improving faster than I did. Back then that was enough for 3rd place.

13514266_10202094966253836_381213807_n

This time my swim was OK and I exited the water 2 minutes behind lead group (there was one guy another 2 minutes in front of that group). Considering my performance in training I was expecting the gap to be smaller but still it was better than in the last few races I did.

13563176_10210032608399872_1681332174_n

 

On the bike I averaged 291W (303W normalized power, 71 kg). Solid performance, but I still lost almost 8 minutes to eventual winner Thomas Steger. My run was 30 seconds slower than the fastest run split of the day, but not good enough to significantly improve my final position.

I’m currently in Kotor, Montenegro where I’ll race Ocan Lava race tomorrow. After that it’s back to the points chase for Hawaii, probably at Ironman UK.

 

Posted on July 2, 2016, in race report, video and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

